National Qualifying Tournament Teams, Schedule & Advancement

As of January 29, 2018, here are the teams competing:

Host Competing Teams

Dillard University
New Orleans, LA
(10 teams in 2 rooms)

Saturday February 3

Dillard Univ.
Stillman College
Alabama A&M State Univ.
Jackson State Univ.
Philander Smith College
Alcorn State Univ.
Talladega College
Southern Univ.-New Orleans
Tougaloo College
Xavier Univ.

Harris-Stowe State Univ.
St. Louis, MO
(5 teams in 1 room)

Friday February 2

Harris-Stowe State Univ.
Oakwood Univ.
Lincoln Univ.-Missouri
Kentucky State Univ.
Wiley College

North Carolina Central Univ.
Durham, NC
10 teams in 2 rooms)

Saturday February 3

North Carolina Central Univ.
Morgan State Univ.
North Carolina A&T State Univ.
Benedict College
Winston-Salem State Univ.
Paine College
Livingstone College
Bennett College
Claflin Univ.
Huston-Tillotson College

Prairie View A&M Univ.
Prairie View, TX
(10 teams in 2 rooms)

Saturday February 3

Prairie View A&M Univ.
Chicago State Univ.
Southern Univ.-Baton Rouge
Mississippi Valley State Univ.
Langston Univ.
Texas College
Jarvis Christian College
Grambling State Univ.
Univ.-Arkansas Pine Bluff
Paul Quinn College

Spelman College
Atlanta, GA
(10 teams in 2 rooms)

Saturday February 3

Spelman College
Tuskegee Univ.
Miles College
Florida A&M Univ.
Tennessee State Univ.
Savannah State Univ.
Alabama State Univ.
Bethune-Cookman Univ.
Clark Atlanta Univ.
Morehouse College

Univ.- District of Columbia
Washington, DC
(10 teams in 2 rooms)

Saturday February 3

Univ.-District of Columbia
Univ.-District of Columbia B-Team
Bowie State Univ.
Albany State Univ.
Albany State Univ. B-Team
Cheyney Univ.
Howard Univ.
York College
Univ. - Maryland Eastern Shore
Rust  College

Virginia Union Univ.
Richmond, VA
(10 teams in 2 rooms)

Saturday February 3

Virginia Union Univ.
Elizabeth City State Univ.
Virginia State Univ.
Norfolk State Univ.
Fisk Univ.
Voorhees College
Fayetteville State Univ.
St. Augustine's Univ.
Hampton Univ.
West Virginia State Univ.

Weather Alert

We hope that the weather is clear, but we advise all participating HBCUs to exercise caution in the event of inclement weather. If the weather prevents teams from traveling or from a tournament being held we will use our best judgment to identify teams to advance to the NCT.

Tournament Schedule

Each tournament is a bit different, so please refer to the schedule sent by the host HBCU. Teams MUST arrive by 8 am for registration. The tournament meeting and random draw is at 8:30 am. Games begin no later than 9:30 am. If there are no delays, the tournaments are planned to conclude by 6 pm.

How will teams for the NCT be determined?

Automatically Advancing Teams: The top teams at each NQT, as determined by the results of the NQT playoffs:
1 division tournaments will advance 1 team automatically (playoff winner)
2 division tournaments will advance 2 teams automatically (playoff winner and runner-up)
3 division tournaments will advance 3 teams automatically (playoff winner, runner-up and 3rd place team. 3rd place is the highest scoring team of the 2 teams advancing to the playoffs in the only playoff game they play).

Performance Advancing Teams: After the automatically advancing teams, the round robin performance of all remaining teams will be evaluated across all NQTs. This formula takes into consideration win-loss record, points scored and strength of field.

Other Advancing Teams: The final 25% of teams advancing will be selected.

Teams advancing to the NCT will be announced the week of February 12th, 2018.