2018 National Championship Special Awards


The top player in each round robin division is named an All-Star. Students must compete in at least 3 of their team's 5 games to be eligible. The All-Stars are the top players by average points scored per game. Honda awards their institutions an additional $1,000 grant.




Points Per Game

Crumpler Devon Jefferson Tennessee State Univ. 45
Jones Xavier Alexander Tuskegee Univ. 47.5
Abbott Malique Brunner North Carolina A&T State Univ. 50
Fritz Pollard Joshua Strayhorn North Carolina Central Univ. 52
William Still Kelvin Wells Southern Univ.-Baton Rouge 54
Randolph Nayirah Muhammad Fisk Univ. 54
Oscar Micheaux Ariana Benson Spelman College 56
Bullard John Carter Grambling State Univ. 56

Ernest C. Jones Sportsperson

Each year, a very special player is given the HCASC Sportsperson Award. It is one of our most prestigious individual awards made so by the fact that the recipient is selected by you, the players.

Named for one of our early volunteers who mentored students in the program, the Ernest C. Jones Sportsperson Award epitomizes team spirit, camaraderie, good sportsmanship and academic focus.

Rosalyn Jones presented the annual sportsperson award:

It is an honor for me to present this award to a very special Sportsperson Awardee. 

 A passionate scholar and competitor, this perennial All-Star has shined during gameplay at each of the NCTs she or he has attended. The game officials in his or her division were impressed by his or her knowledge and quickness on the buzzer.

 As captain, she or he shows responsibility and respect for teammates, and leads by example when it comes to being a good sport. Win or lose, he or she is quick to shake competitors’ hands and point out and celebrate their strengths. It is easy to see that he or she does HCASC for the love and enjoyment of competition, learning, and fellowship

Please join me in celebrating the 2018 Ernest C. Jones Sportsperson of the year, from Fisk University, Nayirah Muhammad.

Nayirah Muhammad, Fisk University

Coach of the Year

This award is presented to a coach who stands out among his or her peers. Coaches are involved in the selection, direction, instruction and training of a team. An HCASC coach can also serve as parent, guardian, mentor and teacher. Many of our HCASC coaches serve for many years impacting the lives of hundreds of players and often without recognition or reward.

This year's award recipient introduction:

This year’s “Coach of the Year” has been described as a “Pied Piper” for HCASC.
Former players have said that because of this coach, they became even better people outside the game. 
The coach’s “real job” supervisor describes the coach as never in a bad mood, always happy, helpful and encouraging to students, and colleagues alike. He never comes to be served; instead, he’s a servant to all.

When his team won their first national championship, some might have thought it was a fluke. However, bringing home a second championship removed all doubt. This coach’s hard work, determination, and love blend to make him the perfect father figure, friend and yes, “Coach of the Year!

From “beautiful downtown Prairie View, Texas,” ladies and gentlemen, please help us congratulate our 2018 Coach of the Year…from Prairie View A&M University, Herbert R. Thomas.     
Herbert R. Thomas, Prairie View A&M University